Back to Awards Menu


 Director's Award



Each year a Regional Director can present a Director's award to a person or organization from their region.  A Director At-Large can choose to give an award to a person or organization from any BFA region.  Awards are announced and presented at the BFA Annual General Meeting.


2020 Dean Carlton Great Lakes Al Reusch
  Mike Hance Southwest Josh Sneed
  Glen Moyer Western Katie Griggs
  Dawn Chase Northeast Mark MacSkimming
  Max Moerles Southeast Jetta Schantz


Brad Temeyer At Large Maury Sullivan

Ken Tadolini & Patsy Buchwald

North Central Tim Cloyd
  Nick Moehlmann Northeast Mark MacSkimming
  Mike Emich
At Large Ted Watts
  Bill Broker Southwest Cheri White
  Karalyn Mumm At Large Mark West
  Pat Cannon West Katie Griggs
  Al Nels Great Lakes Dean Carlton
  Alabama Jubilee Hot Air Balloon Classic,Decatur AL Southeast Jetta Schantz
 2018 Tony Sandlin
Great Lakes
Dean Carlton

Rio Grande Balloon Camp 

           Neida Courtney Bueno & Kelli Ballengee

Southwest Cheri White
  Great Lakes Balloon Camp - Jeff Trzebiatowski At Large Scott Wooge
  Todd Fisher At Large Maury Sullivan
  Tony Saxton Northeast Mark MacSkimming
  Shreveport-Bossier Sports Commission Southeast Sam Parks
  Jim Fromm North Central Tim Cloyd
  Kimberly Wooge Magee At Large Ted Watts


Andy Baird At-Large Maury Sullivan
Gabriel Gunsling, Lake Tahoe Balloons Western Katie Griggs
Wayne Phillips Northeast David Tanzer
Helen to the Sea Hot Air Balloon Rally Southeast Sam Parks
Sandy (Branham) Kneeland North Central Tim Cloyd
Gordon Schwontkowski Great Lakes Dean Carlton
Beth Wright-Smith Southwest Cheri White
Jim Thompson At-Large Scott Wooge
2016 Gary Britton At-Large Maury Sullivan
Jeff Thompson Western Katie Griggs
Russ Barber Northeast David Tanzer
Carolina Balloon Fest Southeast Sam Parks
Rob Bartholomew North Central Tim Cloyd
Brian Trapp Great Lakes Dean Carlton
Shelly & Alan Cannaday Southwest Cheri White
Richard & Sherry Techau At-Large Scott Wooge
Susan Stamats At-Large Scott Wooge
John Trione At-Large Ted Watts
Johnathan Gaffney NAA Rep. Troy Bradley
2015 Mike Gilligan At-Large Maury Sullivan
Jeff Haliczer Western Katie Griggs
Paul S. Stumpf Northeast David Tanzer
Bill Smith Southeast Sam Parks
Bill & Louise Clemons North Central David Rapp
Lynee Bixler Great Lakes Dean Carlton
Mark Sullivan Southwest Cheri White
Katie Griggs & the BFA Convention Committee At-Large Scott Wooge
Gene Burnstein At-Large Ted Watts
2014 Dawn Ann Chase At-Large Maury Sullivan
Rick Wallace Western Katie Griggs
Aircraft Owners & Pilots Association Northeast Mick Murphy
Greater Atlantic Rescue Dogs Southeast Sam Parks
K9 Alert Southeast Sam Parks
Becky Wigeland North Central David Rapp
Lindstrand Balloons, USA Great Lakes Dean Carlton
Fred Dinkler Southwest Cheri White
John Craparo At-Large Scott Wooge
Andrew Baird At-Large Drew Egerton
Gary Heavin NAA Rep Troy Bradley
2013 Michael Bien North Central David Rapp
Ryan Carlton Great Lakes Ken Walter
OZ Tour & Disney Western Cory Miller
Ken Draughn Southeast Sam Parks
Cindy L Petrehn Southwest Blair Kaufmann
David Tanzer Northeast Mick Murphy
Adam Magee At-Large Drew Egerton
Kimberly Wooge At-Large Drew Egerton
Jeff Haliczer At-Large Scott Wooge
Michael L Shrum At-Large Scott Wooge
Orvin E Oliver NAA Rep Jim Thompson
2012 Donald L. Edwards Southeast Jim Lynch
William E Bussey Southwest Blair Kaufman
The People of Ben Hill County At-Large Drew Egerton
Gene Burnstein Northeast Mick Murphy
Ronald & Sandy Grove Western Cory Miller
Debbra A Spaeth Great Lakes Ken Walter
Bill Clemons North Central Matt Fenster
2011 Bill Whidden Southeast Jim Lynch
Dave Sullivan At-Large Kevin Knapp
Glen Moyer Great Lakes Ken Walter
Pat Cannon Southwest Debby Standefer
Jim and Donna Engdahl Western Cory Miller
Iowa Balloonist Association North Central Matt Fenster
2010 Great Eastern Balloon Association (GEBA) Northeast Bill Hughes
Barbara and Steve Stokoe Southeast Jim Lynch
Roy Caton At Large Kevin Knapp
Bill Zangs Great Lakes Ken Walter
Pat Brake Southwest Shelley Caraway
Sharon & Edd Higbee At Large Andy Baird
Bob Tyszka Western Cory Miller
2009 Michael J. Bollea Northeast Bill Hughes
FAA Production Studios Southeast Don Edwards
BFA Membership At Large Nancy Griffin
Dennis D. Nicholson North Central Gary Ruble
Peter J. Cuneo & Barbara Fricke At Large Troy Bradley
Gordon P Schwontkowski Great Lakes Ken Walter
Philip M. Bryant Southwest Shelley Caraway
Thomas C. Jones At Large Andy Baird
Laura Hancock Western Cory Miller
2008 Scott McClinton Southeast Don Edwards
Beth Miller Great Lakes Ken Walters
Rob Schantz and The Schantz Insurance Agency Western Tim Brady
Claire-Wade Calahan Southwest Shelley Caraway
Kathy Thompson North Central Gary Ruble
Lynee Bixler North Central Gary Ruble
The Louisville Convention Organizing Committee At Large Troy Bradley
Mary Conklin At Large Nancy Griffin
Maury Sullivan & The Convention Education Committee At Large Andy Baird
Iowa Balloonists Aessociation NAA Rep Jim Thompson
Balloons over Iowa NAA Rep Jim Thompson
2007 Sam Parks Southeast Don Edwards
Al, AJ & Ashley Nels Great Lakes Pat Newell
Gary Eaton Western Tim Brady
Neida Courney Southwest Phil Bryant
Jim & Wendy Wirth North Central Gary Ruble
Alvin Hansen At Large Nancy Griffin
Christian Amundin At Large Andy Baird
Paul Clinton NAA Rep Jim Thompson
2006 Polly Lasher At Large Mike Layman
Mike Gilligan Southwest Phil Bryant
Jim Winker North Central Orvin Olivier
David Ross & Kathy Lester-Ross At Large Andy Baird
Rick & Debi Ferrall Southeast Robert Willbanks
Christian Amundin Great Lakes Pat Newell
Michelle Strange - Anderson County NAA Rep Jim Thompson
2005 Christine Kalakuka Western Tim Brady
Carol Ann Rogers At Large Mike Layman
Shelley Caraway Southwest Phil Bryant
David Levin North Central Orvin Olivier
Mark Weeks At Large Nancy Griffin
David Justice Southeast Robert Willbanks
Walter & Joan Grishkot Northeast Ruth Lind
Kevin Cloney At Large Ray Bair
2004 Maury Sullivan Great Lakes Pat Newell
Matt & Bobbie Wiederkehr North Central Orvin Olivier
Ed & Mary Ann Lappies Northeast Ruth Lind
Donald L Edwards Southeast Robert Willbanks
Mary Ann Slagle-Poteet Southwest Phil Brynat
Fred Dinkler III Western Tim Brady
Timothy M Gale At Large Michael Layman
Stan Krovontka At Large Nancy Griffin
William J Fitzgerald At Large Nancy Griffin
J. W. Byrd At Large Ray Bair
2003 Larry J Manderscheid North Central Orvin Olivier
David J Sheldon Northeast Ruth Lind
Joey R Preston Southeast Robert Willbanks
John Tarpley Head Jr Southeast Robert Willbanks
Jim & Maxine Weinman At Large Nancy Griffin
J. D. Huss At Large Ray Bair
Frank & Sherry Capps Southwest Phil Bryant
Don Weeks At Large Pat Harwell
Michael R Tuten Great Lakes Pat Newell