Back to Awards Menu

Elizabeth J. Domont Safety Award

 This memorial fund was established in 1981 in memory of Elizabeth J. Domont, an Indiana pilot.

This award is presented annually at the US National Balloon Hot Air Championship awards ceremony. It recognizes the pilot who, in the judgment of the highest race official, best exemplifies the highest degree of safety whether such pilot be competitive or not.

Prior year recipients

Year Recipients
2022 Lincoln, NE FSDO FAA Flight Safety Team
2021 Duncan Dunavent
2019 Brad Temeyer
2018 O'Neil Gas
2017 Henry Rosenbaum
2016 Dr. Ken Wojcik
2015 No award presented
2014 No award presented
2013 No award presented
2012 No award presented
2011 Maury Sullivan
2010 Bob Zanella
2009 Brad Temeyer
2008 Anderson County Fire Department
2007 James A. Thompson
2006 Anderson County Emergency Services
2005 Raymond Bair
2004 Ken Kreiger
2003 Carol Rymer Davis
2002 Gene Funderbunk
2001 Nick Saum
2000 No award presented
1999 David Shaddock
1998 Chief Alan Jones of the Rantoul, IL Police Department
1997 Lou Billones
1996 Allen Yost
1995 Sheriff's Department of Boone County
1994 Richard E. Roth
1993 No award presented
1992 No award presented
1991 No award presented
1990 No award presented
1989 No award presented
1988 No award presented
1987 Phil Thompson
1986 Martin Hill, Jr.
1985 Carol Sherman