Back to Awards Menu

BFA Office

 US Ballooning Hall of Fame Award

Nominations due before May 1 of award year.



The US Ballooning Hall of Fame Award is a partnership effort between the Balloon Federation of America and the National Balloon Museum. The award is designed to recognize individuals who have made exemplary contributions to the history, development or growth of ballooning in the United States. The selection of an inductee to the United States Ballooning Hall of Fame is a merit-based selection.

A call for US Ballooning Hall of Fame candidates will be made each year after the BFA Director's annual meeting. Candidate information forms will be available on the BFA web site and can be submitted at any time for future consideration. Any candidate information form received by the BFA Office after May 1 each year will be considered the following year along with those candidates previously identified and not selected.

Click the following link to access the Candidate form.



US Ballooning Hall of Fame Award recipients are Notable Balloonists as identified by the BFA Hall of Fame Committee. Click the following link to access the biographies and other information on US Hall of Fame Award recipients and other Notable Balloonists.



Hall of Fame Committee


Orvin Olivier – Committee Chair

3208 E 31st Street

Sioux Falls, SD 57103



Debbie Spaeth

PO Box 674

West Bend, WI  53095

(262) 338-2300

Bill Clemons - Museum Representative

1219 Wade St

Des Moines, IA 50315



John Davis

1158 South Vine St

Denver, CO 80210-1831

Telephone          (303)777-8209


Cheri White

522 Ladin Lane     

Austin, TX   78734          

(512) 965-9060


Mick Murphy

92 Town Line Road

Bethlehem, CT   06751-1516

(203) 910-4955


Jim Thompson

9004 Murano Mews Ct

Kissimmee, FL 34747

(515) 229-5804